Axe vs Sword

Alright, so this is the quandary. I’m currently wielding Edge of Ruin from ToC, and before that I carried the Colossal Skull-Clad Cleaver for some time. I’ve been tempted to just drop a bunch of gold and pick up a battered hilt (or if I find the time, just repeatedly run the ICC five mans and hope for the best.) and get me a Quel’Delar, Might of the Faithful. The problem is abandoning the 5% crit I get as with Poleaxe Specialization (and the orc racial expertise) for the occasional extra sword swing from Sword Specialization.

This is not the problem you might think it is. I’m really not concerned with min/maxing my stats just right, or weasling every little point of DPS I can get. I play fast and loose with my stats, and if I can succeed with what I have, it’s good enough. The problem is a bit more ‘RP-esque’. To truly understand you’d have to know a few things.

(It should be noted that I don’t play on a RP server, I play primarily on Normal PvP servers, and I don’t ever RP on WoW. I do however avidly play tabletop RPG’s and run a bi-weekly game)

Firstly, Derull was originally created as a pencil and paper role playing game character for an old Middle Earth Role Playing Game system about 10-12 years ago. He was your standard brutal Uruk-hai warrior who wielded an impossibly large two-handed sword. (Cut me a break, this was before the LotR movies and I hadn’t even played FF7… yet. =P) Anywho, he was a fairly two dimensional character; a basic ‘might makes right’ brute who hit anything in his way. However, the imagery of that character and his gear has stuck with me, and though that incarnation is long retired, I still get a thrill out of playing berserker warriors with little depth now and again.

Then, years later I started playing WoW and the first character I rolled was an orc warrior. He laid dormant for a few years (at level 15) while I played my Blood Elf Pally, but eventually I came back to him. Choosing Arms as my spec I plowed to level 70 all the while using two-handed swords. He even ended up with a Lionheart Executioner (enchanted with Executioner… which I used to Execute [the ability] an Alliance rogue named Executor. Troof, I swear) and I was as happy as could be. He even wielded a sword through out all of WotLK ’till I got that aforementioned Cleaver.

Oh sure, I was often told “Hey nubcakes, you should be using an axe, way better dps, plus you get the racial” or “Lol sword specced”. And when I was playing around in BG’s or Arena “Um, macestun lol. L2play.” But I happily ignored everyone and continued on with my inner RP-nerd cheering inside my head. I’ll always defend someone who uses a weird spec or silly gear, because ultimately it’s all about having fun.

But when I saw the model for the Colossal Skull-Clad Cleaver I was in sheer awe. I have never seen a more orc-y weapon in the game. It is three axes tied together, with a fanged skull, that has spikes, and a spike at the bottom. I had to have it. And though I don’t like the palette-swapped Edge of Ruin’s coloring, it was still badass enough for me. I respecced from swords to axes about a year ago and have really been enjoying the massive buff to my crit chance.

Now I know that there are a ton of other weapons out there. And I’m sure there is a far better two-hander out there for Arms Warriors than the Might of the Faithful, but I like the look of it, and it would be a return to using swords that just sorta feels right. However, I have grown accustomed to my axe spec and I loathe the idea of losing that. So really, it’s not a choice of this current axe or the new sword (obviously Quel’Delar is an upgrade, but rather for the future do I go sword or axe.)

So here I am at a crossroads. And as a Horde player, I have a particular dislike of crossroads in general.

(Potentially a further in depth [non-mechanic based] breakdown of Axes vs Swords in the next post)

4 Responses to “Axe vs Sword”

  1. Game is not bi-weekly you liar.

    And go for the sword. You know you want it. Besides, it’s yet another gold sink for you. ~_^

  2. I do need another gold sink.

  3. Are you planning on running Icecrown 10 anytime soon?

    If you aren’t, get the sword. If you are, get in there and hope the weapon drops off of Saurfang.

    • Yeah I don’t know if I’m going to be seeing Saurfang any time soon, so I might just go and get that hilt. Once my new years hangover is finally shaken, that is.

Leave a Reply

